Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wetsuit recommendations?

Default Wetsuit recommendations?

Hello all...

I'm new to diving (actually I did some diving years ago but never got certified) and will be starting classes in a couple of weeks but I have a question about wet suits. What would be the best purchase if I was only going to dive a few times a year, probably in the Western Caribbean--Cozumel or the Caymans? I would like something that I could also use for snorkeling which, I assume, would be the same.

There seems to be quite a few types of materials and styles that can be somewhat confusing for someone new to the sport.

TIA

City
    Warner Robins
    State
    GA
    Country
    USA

If budget is of no concern, I would go with a 3mm Henderson Hyperstretch. Best feeling wetsuit I've ever worn. Shorty or full length would be your choice in the waters you are planning on visiting. Either will work fine.
    **D**
    Dive Often, Dive Safe and Share Your Sport.
    My Website My Blog MySpace DiveBuddy
    Adopt a Manatee

Captain,

A 3 mil one piece jumpsuit should work fine for the Caribbean. The really stretchy material wetsuits are quite comfortable, like the Henderson hyperstretch.

Pinnacle has a stretchy version that also is excellent.

But we'll expect a trip report and photos from your next dive excursion, and tell your Mrs. she's welcome here too!

I am editing the post because Dale was typing the same recommendation but just hit the post button a few seconds before me. I guess great minds think alike!

City
    Warner Robins
    State
    GA
    Country
    USA

Quote Originally Posted by iDiveChick View Post
    I guess great minds think alike!
    I guess they do..
    **D**
    Adopt a Manatee

Thumbs up N41983