Thread: Hello from Kwajalein Atoll, Marshall Islands...

Registered Users
    City
    San Rafael
    State
    California
    Country
    USA

Default Hello from Kwajalein Atoll, Marshall Islands...

Hi all,

Just wanted to say 'hi', and introduce myself a bit. I'm a civilian firefighter out here at the U.S. Army base at Kwajalein Atoll, and I've been here just over 2 1/2 years. I started diving two years ago, which was a dream of many, many years come true.

I do a lot of wreck diving, and I'm also into underwater photography. But I like diving period- whether I'm diving a wreck, the reef, a coralhead, or whatever. I've been a firefighter for 21 1/2 years, and I'm contemplating a change of career. Guess what I want to do next! :-)

My current u/w camera is a SeaLife Reefmaster DC600, with the SL960D digital strobe and wide-angle lens. However, just a week ago, I ordered a new underwater photography system that consists of the following-

Nikon D300 camera
    Sea & Sea housing
    Tokina 10-17 wide angle lens
    fish eye dome port
    two Sea & Sea YS-250 strobes
    Ikelite arm system

Those are the major components, and of course there's the cables and other misc. items. I've written a few articles on some of the wrecks out here, and I'm being asked to shoot u/w wreck photos for a couple of different aviation magazines, plus write accompanying articles. So, I decided it was time to get a pro system.

Other dive certs I want to get are Divemaster, Dive Instructor, Nitrox, Tech Diver, Master Diver, and anything else I can get. I'm starting my Divemaster course soon. Here at Kwajalein, we are only allowed to dive with single tanks with regular compressed air.