Thread: Loreto

Default Loreto

I've been to a resort down in baja California called Eden Loreto and did lots of diving around Loreto.

Visibility was around 60 feet and it was like supercharged SoCal diving on steroids with warmer water and some tropicals.

They have a clothing optional beach there which was nice and clean that they only allow guests there so no leering locals.

I believe this is now called the "Inn at Loreto Bay". We were there last October. The hotel was absolutely terrible. Hot water cut off at odd times. Power outages. VERY poor service. Food was passable, but certainly not what I would expect at "the best" resort in Loreto.

Being a Land SUrveyor, I am more than a bit familiar with UBC and safe building practices. In my opinion, the building is in terrible shape. I took photographs of gapping, un-re-enforced holes in walls, electrical nightmares and other faults that would have shut the place down north of the border.

Now, having trashed the accomodations, the Dolphin Dive Center, with whom we dived, was absolutely fantastic! Susan and Bruce are wonderful hosts. Raphael, or DM and Salvator, our boat Captain, were without peers. We aksed to see turtles, they showed us turtles. I asked to see a nudibranch, Raphael found more than a few for me on the next dive!

In fact, the diving and the treatment we had with Dolphin Dive Center moved this trip into one of the top 10 ever for Laura and me. Yes! DDC is really that good!

2 out of 10 for the Inn. 20 out of 10 for the DDC.

Registered Users

I dove with Dolphin Dive center about 7 years ago....went there in late June thru first week of July....vis maybe 30' and green....thermoclines to 68 degrees...Yikes

City
    Vista
    State
    California
    Country
    USA

Default Loreto and Mulege