PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone

Tigerbeach
07-25-2007, 07:23 AM
Hi everyone; I am Anthony.
Boy, this takes me back to great and wild days as a Scuba Instructor!
I was in the water 6-7 days a week, for years.
I wouldn't shower on my days off just so I wouldn't have to get wet.

I grew up in Laguna Beach, in So Cal. I grew up surfing, diving, and sailing.
I went to Pepperdine and studied Business.
After college, I started training to teach, then became the Head Dive Instructor teaching surf entries to students at Laguna Sea Sports in Laguna Beach. A few years later I was on Oahu and began my own company, the Owner / Operator of Aloha Dive in Hawaii Kai.
We were crazy! On days off my safety divers and I:
Did everything you have ever heard of, and then some.
Drank beer underwater. Smoked pot underwater. Dove 240' deep on air. Snorkeled over a mile in full dive gear. Free dove 100'. Blew perfect air rings. Found rare sea shells. Hid from big sharks. Breathed straight off the tank valve. Took our tanks off, and pushed them ahead of us through tight cave openings. Ran into big whales. Dove wrecks. Messed with ALL sea life. (Like filling puffer fish with compressed air) Got laid underwater. Laughed off thousands and thousands of pounds of pressure, etc.

During work we pushed ourselves relentlessly. NO accidents. Ever.
We didn't lose dive gear. Ever.
We trained ourselves and conditioned ourselves constantly.
We used UDT fins, only.
I had 5000 dives in 6 years. I spent about a month each year underwater.
I taught hundreds and hundreds of students.

We taught our students self reliance, common sense, and unbeatable swimming skills like neutral buoyancy and body positioning. Even back in the '80's, people in the industry thought we were nuts. They just wanted to certify everyone and their Grandma and then sell 'em a bunch of gear.
I didn't care about that; I wanted people to learn to play safely.
And have half as much fun as I did!