PDA

View Full Version : Underwater photography.

scubapaula
04-04-2011, 07:03 AM
Hi there. I am new to all this and thought that I would post something to ask some advice.

Recently I have got an underwater housing for me camera and have take some good shot.

As I am still a beginner in this I knew that they were going to come out all blue cause it all looses colour as you go down.
So i was wondering if there was an easy way to put the blue back in the pictures without spending hours on it.
I have always uses paint shop pro and asked on another forum yesterday to see if anyone else had any ideas.
Photoshop was mentioned a fair bit bit i dont have that.

Also GIMP was another one that was talked about.
Has anyone used GIMP to sort out there pics.
Does anyone know how to script it into doing it all for you.

Any information would be great and a big help.

Thanks.
Paula

acelockco
04-04-2011, 08:22 AM
As you already know the issue is you are loosing color as you are loosing light. The only solution for this is to use a strobe (external flash). They can be rather expensive and involved, but without one almost every one of your photos won't come out. The difference is going to be shocking to you! Once you try one, you will understand completely.

You can try to use one of the photo editing programs you mentioned, unfortunately none of them are going to be able to work magic. You may be able to brighten up the images and add a bit of color, but the results will be minimally better.

Unfortunately I have been in this situation before, taking hundreds of photos while away on vacation, only to find out that the photos are basically useless(yes, film cameras not digital back then).