PDA

View Full Version : IMAX Under the Sea 3D

The Publisher
03-22-2009, 01:28 AM
Well, I just saw the IMAX Under the Sea 3D (http://www.imax.com/underthesea/).

Shot in Papua New Guinea, Indonesia and Australia, the movie is about 45 minutes long and required the special 3d glasses handed out.

I personally am not sold on 3d and think it interferes with the sharpness of the IMax format, which is typically 5K, or 5 times the resolution of a typical 1080 HDV videocamera.

I was annoyed by the artificial sound effects added every time some marine animal snapped up another. They also took some artistic license and in referring to dead reefs ostensibly caused by global warming, they turn off the IMax film camera and there was no color correction in post, so it looked blue and gloomy.

As a videographer I did appreciate just how much effort they went to to get certain shots. Like the stonefish snapping up a fish shot took 6 hours of waiting. The frogfish eating a fish must have taken forever too.

The sea dragon animals were stunning, one of these days I need to get some footage of that.

I think the movie will be a great vehicle to raise marine protection awareness to the masses, and I would encourage all to go see it.

They do have a fun marine animal facts game here (http://www.imax.com/underthesea/games/namethat/index.html) although I disagreed with some of the answers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGLCqdsNw6M&feature=related

acelockco
03-22-2009, 04:05 PM
Imax did the same thing with their other underwater production "Deep Sea" as far as the sound effects that they added. The funny thing is the majority of the sound effects were so unbelievable. The image quality of that film is epic though (and not 3-D). Even on DVD the quality looks amazing. Check it out if you have not seen it yet.