PDA

View Full Version : advice for buying my gear

benfuqua
03-10-2009, 06:15 PM
I have just signed up for dive training, and as I am studying my materials I am getting ready to start buying my gear. So does anyone have any recommendations of favorites or anything I should stay away from. I have to admit it all gets a little overwhelming.

hbh2oguard
03-11-2009, 02:21 AM
I'm assuming you mean skin gear(mask, snorkel, booties, fins) so get what fits well and is comfortable. Get it from the dive shop and they should help you out. A mask should be able to fit without the strap when you suck in with your nose. Get a pretty basic snorkel with a large bore! Booties just make sure they fit well. Fins total up to you. I like split fins because I don't feel them but there is a downside that you don't get as much "power" or what ever you want to call it when diving in currents. Hope this help.

The Publisher
03-11-2009, 04:50 AM
Welcome to the SMN Community.

If you are getting trained at a dive shop, ask them to try out in the pool a bunch of different masks. Give them at least 30 minutes each in the pool if you can.....same goes for fins. Some just really rub my feet the wrong way.

padi613
03-11-2009, 10:53 AM
Hi Benfuqua
Congrats on starting an enjoyable passtime. I have one piece of advise.
Do not let the dive store sell you dive gear that is not suitable for the diving you intend to do. Get trained ,and get the basic equipment you need now.
I'm sure that many a novice diver spends more that is ness.I went down a similar road when I first learned to dive, spent an enormous ammount of money only to find after a few months later that I had bought at the recommendation of the dive store a lot of gear that was unsuitable for the diving that I was doing at that time.Anyway happy hunting for your scuba gear. Les

acelockco
03-16-2009, 02:39 PM
Welcome to the SMN Community.