PDA

View Full Version : Thal's Dive Stories

thalassamania
02-10-2008, 05:59 AM
I'm reworking a bunch of my old stories for various reasons. Most have been posted elsewhere in earlier form. If y'all want I'll post more of them here later.

In the late 1960s and early 1970s, when I was a student at U.C. Berkeley, it was considered by many to be the world's foremost representation of the impersonal megaversity. But within Research Diving Program (http://www.ucdivers.com/) I found an oasis of incredibly diverse and honest people who truly loved and cared for each other. Our shared experiences had profoundly deep effects on us all.

There were many unique aspects to the Research Diving Program at Cal, it was very much a 1960s version of today’s DIR diving, highly refined and standardized training and procedures, extensive and exacting training and identical gear … most of it black. Sound familiar?

It was all there on the equipment list … you see, there was a equipment list, and you needed to show up the first night of class with a full set of gear. Some of the stuff was rather standard and easy to get, other pieces were rarer and in short supply making the weeks before the first night of class into a dive gear scavenger hunt that extended from Monterey to Napa and Sacramento to the Pacific Coast.