PDA

View Full Version : Regulator advice

nomilk4u
01-09-2008, 06:45 AM
Right now I got a Mares Rebel regulator but now since I got my Divemaster I want to upgrade. I know what I want but don't know anyone with the reg I want to get any real feedback to see if is worth getting it.
It is a Sherwood Maximus reg. The main reason for this is i am a sherwood fan plus the easier breathing at depths greater then 80+ feet and the under the arm routing because we do alot of wreck, cavern and coral swim thrus here. I already had an Mares angled swivel on my reg but that is at a 45 degree bend and still got in the way. Any feed back on this reg would be nice. If it is not worth it I will just get a Sherwood Brute or Oasis.

amtrosie
01-10-2008, 01:58 AM
[QUOTE=nomilk4u;9881]I want to upgrade.

The main reason for this is i am a sherwood fan plus the easier breathing at depths greater then 80+ feet and the under the arm routing because we do alot of wreck, cavern and coral swim thrus here. I already had an Mares angled swivel on my reg but that is at a 45 degree bend and still got in the way. Any feed back on this reg would be nice. If it is not worth it I will just get a Sherwood Brute or Oasis

QUOTE]

Why don't you upgrade to a Mares Abyss? I dove this reg for years and loved it's performance.
If you are looking to change, consider the Scubapro MK 25 with the S600. This is my current reg that I use for trimix stuff. It is also on my deco bottles. This is the set up I use when doing my cave diving.

If you are routing your primary reg under your arm, is it on a 7' hose? That is the only configuration that should be in use for the diving you are referring to. The "long hose" should run down the length of the tanks, come under the canister light on the right hip, across the the chest, loop over the head, and finally into your mouth. This is primary reg. The back-up reg. (which should be identical to primary) should be on a short hose (24" or 26") and bungeed around your neck.