PDA

View Full Version : Large broken up wreck in Discovery Bay, N Jamaica - anybody got any ideas?

bubbles
01-01-2008, 06:52 PM
Hi there, Bubbles hubby here with a query.

(Already posted this query on another part of the site, but, thinking about it, here might be more appropriate).

Whilst holidaying in Discovery Bay, Jamaica in June/July 2007, towards the end of our stay we dived on a badly broken up wreck in shallow water. The name of the dive was called 'Banana Boats', and consisted of a number of coral canyons running roughly N-S some 80-100 yards from the shoreline of Discovery Bay.
I am no expert, but it must have been a pretty big ship at some point, but the pounding of the waves and hurricane's over the years have reduced it to complete junk. It certainly was made of iron/steel, but could have still been a tall-masted ship as we found the remains of at least one fairly wide mast (c. 3 feet in circumfurance, possibly more). We also found two large ornate anchors each about 7-8 feet long, heavily coralled, and there is also a third anchor of idential type a few miles to the East at an interesting drop-off dive called 'Spanish Anchor' (the locals believe it came from a Spanish Galleon, however it looks far more recent than that judging from the condition and level of coral infestation) which also comes with a good deal of cable, hanging over the edge of the drop-off - nobody seems to know for sure how far down the cable goes!

I am no expert, but believe it hails from the late Victorian or Edwardian era type of ship. However I could be 100% wrong! It was certainly metal, well-ribbed and if it had at least three anchors (assuming the one at Spanish Anchor hails from the same vessel) that we could find, was obviously pretty large in its hayday.