PDA

View Full Version : Digital cameras that shot movies?

Luis_Felipe
11-20-2007, 05:09 PM
Hi,

I am a beginner underwater photographer who sometimes takes little video clips with my digital camera. I enjoy taking these little clips and then editing them on i-movie, but the quality is obviously not great (I had a Canon Powershot A80 that could take great pictures and 320x240 short clips). I want to take better videos but do not think I am ready to dish out $ for a HD video camera.

What do you think about newer digital still cameras with better movie capabilities (I am thinking about the Canon SD950 or the G7, which can shoot movies at 1024 x 768 /15 fps and 640 x 480 /30 fps)?

What is the trade off between 1024 x 768 at 15fps and 640 x 480 at 30 fps?

Should I get a 7 mp digital camera instead and save for a videocamera down the road, or can something like the SD950 do a decent job for short video clips?

Thanks for any comments,

Felipe

acelockco
11-20-2007, 10:27 PM
I don't know the answers to your questions, but a company by the name of Bonica makes something that you may like. It is an underwater video cammera and housing for pretty inexpensive price. I think they start at $799, but I have seen them in the $500 price range at Leisure Pro and such. They also have a new HD model for about $200 more. I don't think it is anything like HD TV, but it is higher definition.

Anyone have any info on these or have use these, please post a report.

sjspeck
11-20-2007, 11:56 PM
What do you think about newer digital still cameras with better movie capabilities (I am thinking about the Canon SD950 or the G7, which can shoot movies at 1024 x 768 /15 fps and 640 x 480 /30 fps)?
1024x768 at 15fps will be YouTube quality footage. Not enough frame rate to produce smooth results. Your Powershot is likely shooting at 30fps - at least the A6XX series cameras do. I have some decent 640x480 30fps clips my buddy shot with his A620. They pixelate at larger resolutions though.