PDA

View Full Version : Just got a Mares Nemo sports dive computer

lottie
11-13-2007, 02:44 PM
and i can't fathom out how to work the thing (see my blog for more details). I've finally managed to set the time (took me about 6 minutes to read the manual and figure out which keys to press).

Anyone else got one of these comps and willing to give some advice to a complete novice (well, dive comp novice...been working in IT for the past 11 years and that experience is useless in trying to work this thing out)

Thanks

h2odragon1
11-13-2007, 03:14 PM
Congratulations on your new Mares Nemo.
Reading directions is very helpful. When i got my Uwatec, I wanted to go diving first, but I didn't. Directions can be so boring, but are neccessary. When your done, ENJOY!:D

acelockco
11-13-2007, 05:49 PM
Congrats on the sweet new dive computer. Only like 4 scuba bucks or so??

I have to agree, you should read the manual a few times and you should start to understand what is going on. Then when you are ready to actually use the computer, plan your dive according to the tables and follow that plan while you look at your computer to try to understand how it is working. That way you are safe and within your no-deco limits until you know that computer.

From what I have read, it is a very good dive computer and lots of folks rave about them.

I am thinking about a new computer as well.

lottie
11-13-2007, 06:58 PM
Thanks guys,
I had a brief look over the instructions, moreso on the dive mode, but couldn't work it out. I'll have a read through it again (or a good few times) today to find out how it all works as I want to try it out tomorrow afternoon.

BamaCaveDiver
11-13-2007, 07:24 PM
If you bought it locally, ask the staff at your LDS (a good LDS should know how to set up and use what they sell/service.) As Ace mentioned, stay current with your tables and dive planning strategies; the comp is just a tool, not a shortcut.

lottie
11-13-2007, 11:54 PM