PDA

View Full Version : Why do you do it.....

sds-uk
10-17-2007, 08:42 AM
I'm new to diving and I guess you could say I've got the diving bug.

The reasons I enjoy diving is because of the underwater marine life ever since I was a kid I've had tropical fish, terrapin's or turtles. And it has to be said that turtles are my number one favorite. Up until now I always enjoyed snorkeling but a couple of years ago I got my first underwater digital camera Sony 5M DC10 and although I've managed to get some great photos I was always frustrated about not being able to stay underwater long enough to get my photo. As soon as I got into position I would either run out of puff or start floating to the surface and fish just won't pose. So my wife and I decided that we would have to get into scuba diving and its great we've both really enjoy it. We've only done 10 dives so far so we're really new to this but we're already talking about when we can go diving next.

Red Sea photo

http://www.stevesparkes.co.uk/eh4.html

Turtle photo

http://www.stevesparkes.co.uk/gf6.html

Why do you do it. Whats been your most rememberable experience.

rubber chicken
10-17-2007, 09:16 AM
Gee, what a question!:)

When I was a kid I used to watch The Undersea adventures of Jacques Cousteau and was mesmerised by the whole underwater world. However, I was convinced that diving was the reserve of the superfit, rich adrenalin junkies and that I would never experience what they did except vicariously through TV, books and magazine articles.
A couple of years ago my wife and I came up with a way of financing a year long round the world trip and I decided that a visit to the Great Barrier Reef just wouldn't be the same through a glass bottomed boat so I looked into Scuba diving. Visiting my LDS soon taught me that my earlier impressions of the diving fraternity were considerably wide of the mark and I quickly signed up for an Open Water Course.