PDA

View Full Version : completely new, long story

abyss
08-10-2007, 07:01 PM
i may have posted this in the wrong section, if so feel free to move

my name is rupert and im a complete newb...........

the story is, due to an accident in the army in 2005, i was medically discharged in march 2006, and my ressetlement was deffered, this expires in march 2008.

and i got a bit of a bee in my bonnet about having to use this before it expires (wasted opurtunities and all that):rolleyes:

i am tottaly into reef keeping, and have a 1200 ltre marine system in my dining room, and thought i want to be part of that,

so i got myself onto a diving course in january 2008, for 5 weeks, in Dahab

i have done some try dives whilst in the army, so i thought this is the route that i want to take.

so ive started to aquire some equipment, and i would like any opinions or advice of any additional gear i may require

so far i have

scubapro kinetix fins

oceanic FDX10 regulator, delta 4 with an alpha 8 octopus, with triple consol

oceanic probe lx BCd

oceanic neo 2 mask (may change for Mares, liquid skin)?

oceanic dry snorkel

typhoon booties, zip

suunto ghekko (next month)

citizen aqualand promaster 2 watch

would like advice on, the following

which wetsuit (preferably, twinset, 5mm shorty with 5mm full) ish?

weight belts?

accessories, knife etc

holdall bag etc

and anything else that i may have missed, all advice is very much welcome

kind regards

rupert

acelockco
08-10-2007, 09:33 PM
I would say return everything that you can. Buy an inexpensive mask, fins (and booties if needed), snorkel and weight belt with a nice metal buckle. MAKE SURE EVERYTHING FITS YOU PROPERLY! Use the gear they provide in the class. Rent all of your gear for your first 25 dives or so until you figure out which direction diving is going to take you. By that time you will have a better understanding of the equipment and your needs out of that equipment.